Primitive Baptist Church and Family History Assistance for Pickett County, Tennessee


Wolf River Church was organized 5 May, 1821. There were twenty eight charter members, viz., William Brown, Elizabeth Tompkins, Caty Gabbard, Maximillian Maybery, David Gabbard, Thomas Tompkins, William Tompkins, Rebecca Mayberry, Stephen Sewell, Ann Sewell, Peggy Sewell, Arthur Pierce, Nancy Pierce, Reuben Clevanger, Sarah Clevenger, Samuel Cole, Gilley Guyn, Isaac Crouch, Nancy Crouch, Joseph Tompkins, Mary Tompkins, William Sewell, Viny Cole, Thomas Rabourn, Mildred Rabourn, Richard Rabourn, Polly Jones, and Elizabeth Cowan. The presbytery included Elder Isaac Denton, moderator, and Bro. Joseph Tompkins, clerk.

Copyright c. 2006-2022. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (