Primitive Baptist Church and Family History Research Assistance
for McMinn County, Tennessee


ZION HILL (1822)

Zion Hill Church was organized May 18, 1822, by Elders James Sewell and John Courtney, with ten charter members, David Byler, Thomas Cantrell, Thomas Long, Phillip D. Maroney, Elizabeth Byler, Zillah Officer, Rebecca Stephenson, Prudence Triplett, Tamer Walker, and Martha Jones.

In 1836, a deed was given to the church for two acres of land where the meeting house and graveyard were located, by John Byler.

Copyright c. 2003-2022. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (