Church and Family History Research Assistance for Tyrrell County, North Carolina



This church was located about three miles southeast of Columbia, the capital seat of the county. It was at first called "Sound Side." The members originaly composing this church came mostly from the church at Scuppernong. The church was constituted in 1824 by Elders Micajah and James Ambrose. She united with the Kehukee Association the same year, with twenty-seven members. Elder James Ambrose was called to the pastoral care, in which capacity he serve until his death in 1830. He was followed by Elder Micajah Ambrose until he died. She was then for a long period without any regular pastor, but was served by ministers from sister churches. In 1842 William Reynolds became a member of this church, and in 1852 he was ordained, and immediatley called as pastor, and served until his death in 1878. Her deacons have included Abraham I. Swain, William Kemp, William Barnes, James M. Barnes, William R. Liverman, Benjamin Reynolds, and William Voliva.

Copyright c. 2001-2020. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (