Church and Family History Research Assistance for Simpson County, Kentucky








Sulphur Springs Church, Simpson County, Kentucky, was organized in May, 1827. It was constituted on the following creed or articles, viz., Article 1. We believe in one only true and living God, the Father, the Word, and the Holy Ghost. 2nd. We believe the scriptures of the Old and New Testaments are the only rule of faith and practice. 3. We believe in the doctrine of original sin. 4. We believe in the doctrine of election; that God made choice of his people in Christ before the foundation of the world. 5. We believe in man's impotency to recover himself from the fallen state he is in by nature, of his own free will and ability. 6. We believe that sinners are justified in the sight of God only the righteousness of Christ, imputed to them. 7. We believe that God's elect shall be called, converted, regenerated, and sanctified by the Holy Ghost. 8. We believe the saints shall persevere in grace, and never finally fall away. 9. We believe that baptism and the Lord's Supper are ordinances of Jesus Christ, and that true believers are the subjects; and the true mode of baptism is by immersion. 10. We believe in the resurrection of the dead and a general judgment. 11. We believe the punishment of the wicked and the joys of the righteous will be eternal. 12. We believe that no minister has a right to the administration of the ordinances, but such as are regularly baptized and called, and set apart by the imposition of hands by a presbytery of the church.

Elder Benjamin Jackson was the first Moderator; and John Hail, Clerk pro tem. Elders B. Jackson, Poplar Springs Church; William Angel, Whippoorwill Church, Logan Co., Ky.; Richard Owen, New Salem Church, Simpson Co., Ky., constituted the presbytery. The church petitioned the Red River Association; was received, and remained but about six years, when, at her request, she was dismissed, and joined the Drake's Creek Association. Elder Isaac Steele was the first minister called to the oversight of the church, and was her pastor until 1862, a period of thirty-five years; and he joined this church in 1855.

Sulphur Springs was very prosperous until 1834, when, at the May conference, a motion was made by J. P. Bush, and seconded by H. Mason, "That the church say whether she will approbate her members joining the temperance societies or not." At the Saturday Conference, June 14, 1834, the church resumed the consideration of the business of yesterday, and after due deliberation upon the motion of Brother Bush as to whether the church would approbate her members joining temperance societies or not, the church voted, "No," by 33 to 20. Upon motion and second, a letter of dismission was granted to Elder O.H. Morrow and as many others as may apply to the Clerk. Many went off from us under this pretext, but it was afterwards manifested that the 7th article of faith was the real cause. Elder Morrow immediately organized a Missionary Baptist church in a few yards of the old church, and has ever since been the most active enemy of the Primitive Baptists. It is a little remarkable that O. H. Morrow is the only one ever ordained to the ministry by Sulphur Springs Church, though its membership has been generally large. In 1856, at July Conference, the church withdrew from the Drake's Creek Association. In August 1859 the church joined the Stone's River Association. In August, 1863, Elder Joseph Pitt was called to the care of the church. About the year 1870, Elder M. Hodges was called to serve the church. The next pastor was Elder J. B. Stephens, of Nashville, Tenn. In 1876, an excellent house was built. The membership in 1883 was about 100, and Elder J. E. Frost was called as pastor about that time.


Thank you for being patient while we seek information for this site. If you have such information, please write to us.

Go Back to the Primitive Baptist Library Page

Go Back to the Family History Assistance Page

Copyright c. 2001-2020. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (