Primitive Baptist Church and Family History
Research Assistance for Quay County, New Mexico



Pursuant to a call by Elder I. R. Greathouse and other brethren of New Mexico, Elder W. S. Bourland, of Vernon, Texas, and Elder Asa Howard, of Keller, Texas, responded, meeting the brethren and friends at a schoolhouse in Quay Co., on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in September 1916. After preaching, a presbytery was organized, choosing Elder Asa Howard moderator, and Elder W. S. Bourland clerk.

The church was named Pleasant Hope, and Elder I. R. Greathouse was chosen pastor and Brother Scarborough clerk of the church.



Quay Valley Church was organized in March 29, 1930, with seven charter members, viz., C. R. Hayden, B. M. Woody, George Booth, Deliah Wilkerson, Della Roberts, Glennie Graham, and Lucy Tatum. The presbytery was composed of Elders T. A. Dunn, E. J. Norman, J. L. McCarty, J. B. Owens, C. J. Bolinger, and G. C. Miller. Elder J. L. McCarty was chosen as pastor, and George Booth as clerk. Later pastors included Elders J. O. Dodd, George Griffin, Willie Fox, and Archie Mobley. Clerks included George Booth, J. O. Dodd, Lucy Tatum, and Odis Mobley. Deacons who have served included B. M. Woody, William Massingill, Charlie Wyatt, Odis Mobley, and Bill Tatum.


Copyright c. 2006-2011. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (