Church and Family History Research Assistance
for Mason County, Kentucky



The Washington Church (originally known as Limestone Church) was organized in 1785 by Elder William Wood, the first pastor. The charter members were: William Wood, Sarah Wood, James Turner, John Smith, Luther Calvin, Priscilla Calvin, Sarah Starks, Charles Tuel, and Sarah Tuel. Elder Wood and Arthur Fox, Sr., bought land from Simon Kenton and laid out Washington that year. Wood gave land for the church and cemetery. This church became a member of the Elkhorn Association in the fall of 1785.

MAYS LICK (1789)

Mays Lick Church was organized November 28, 1789, by Elders William Wood and James Garrard, with four charter members, viz., David Morris, Cornelius Drake, Ann Shotwell, and Lydia Drake, all of whom came from Scotch Plains Church in New Jersey.

BRACKEN (1793)

Bracken Church, in Minerva, was organized during the summer of 1793, by Elder Lewis Craig, with ten charter members, viz., Philip Drake, Ann Drake, Bernard Thompson and wife, Mary Lewis, Mary Downing, Thomas Kelsor, Elizabeth Murphy, Hannah Kelsor, and Dennis Murphy. Elder Lewis Craig was probably the first pastor. The church had divided by 1805, over slavery. This church united with the Elkhorn Association in 1795. In 1829, Jesse Holston (who had been pastor since 1815) went over to Campbellism, taking most of the church with him, leaving only 37 members out of a total of 251 prior to the division.




Thank you for being patient while we seek information for this site.
If you have such information, please write to us.

Copyright c. 2001-2020. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (