Church and Family History Research Assistance
for Letcher County, Kentucky



Indian Bottom Church was organized in the fall of 1810 at the home of Isaac Whitaker, with about twenty charter members, including James Webb, Benjamin Webb, John Adams, Electious Thompson, John Dixon, Isaac Taulbee, James Harris, Benjamin Adams, Stephen Caudill, Sarah Caudill, Rachel Adams, Mathias Kelly, Amy Kelly, James Caudill, Mary Caudill, Benjamin Caudill, Spencer Adams, Isaac Whitaker, Archelous Craft, and John Bunyard. The presbytery was composed of Elders William Saulsberry, Electious Thompson, and Simeon Justice, all of whom were from the North District Association.

Indian Bottom Church first united with the Washington District Association in 1811. In 1814, the church was dismissed to join the Burning Spring Association. In 1825 the church became part of the New Salem Association, which became identified with the "Old Regular" Baptists rather than the Primitive Baptists.



Thank you for being patient while we seek information for this site. If you have such information, please write to us.

Go Back to the Primitive Baptist Library Page

Go Back to the Family History Assistance Page

Copyright c. 2001. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (