Church and Family History Research Assistance
for Kosciusko County, Indiana



According to previous arrangement, a council of brethren, viz., Elder S. H. Benjamin, from Tippecanoe Church, Elder J. W. Taylor, from Pleasant-view Church, Elder David Fawley and Bro. S. O. Clark, from New Hope Church, S. B. Truex, Johnson Mellotte, Levi McGowen, William McGowen, from Providence Church, met at the Lichtenwalter School-house, in Koskiusko Co., Indiana, and after preaching by Elder S. H. Benjamin, said council proceeded to business by choosing Elder David Fawley, moderator, and S. B. Truex, clerk. Then the letters of dismission, articles of faith and practice, as adopted by the undersigned brethren and sisters of this Constitution, were presented to the council; and after careful examination, the council decided that their faith and practice are according to Bible teaching. Then the brethren and sisters of this covenant formed in a ring around the Bible by joining hands, prayer by Elder S. H. Benjamin; charge by Elder David Fawley, and right hand of fellowship given by the council, and many other brethren and sisters who were present. After which the little band of brethren and sisters were pronounced a Church in order, and named the Island Church of Old School Baptists. The names of the brethren and sisters constituted were as follows: Samuel Estep and wife, Elizabeth; William Estep and wife, Hannah; William R. Clark and wife, Barbara; Alexander Price and wife, Lydia; Joseph Price, and James Collins.


Berkeypile, Biller, Clark, Collins, Estep, Fawley, Gilbeert, Gregg, Hollar, Hummel, Lang, Lathrop, McGowen, Mellotte, Morris, Pittman, Price, Sechier, Sharp, Shilling, Silveus, Truex, Tusing.

Thank you for being patient while we seek information for this site. If you have such information, please write to us.

Go Back to the Primitive Baptist Library Page

Go Back to the Family History Assistance Page

Copyright c. 2001-2006. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (