Church and Family History Research Assistance
for Primitive Baptist Churches in Jackson County, Oklahoma



Pilgrim's Rest Church was constituted May 5, 1903, four and one half miles east of Eldorado, Oklahoma, by Elders J. A. Jones, J. R. McCarty, and Deacons W. O. Farrington, A. A. DeShazo and Z. M. Wilson, with the following members, viz., J. D. Handley, M. A. Handley, B. H. Handley, W. M. Fancher, and Susan Fancher, from Wanders Creek Church in Wilbarger County, Texas, and M. T. Gillintine and S. J. Gillintine from Bosque church, Erath County, Texas, and E. M. Robinson and wife from Walnut Creek Church in Tarrant County, Texas.

This church was constituted on the articles of faith of the Salem Association of Texas. Elder J. A. Jones was chosen the first pastor.


Driver, Drury, Fancher, Felty, Fowler, Gillintine, Green, Handley, Higginbottom, Nelson, Robinson (very incomplete list due to records not being available to us).


Copyright c. 2002. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (