Church and Family History Research Assistance

for Henry County, Illinois



Barren Grove Church was organized on Saturday, November 19, 1870, at the Union Schoolhouse, near Kewanee. The charter members were Lewis Brasel, Mary Brasel, Michael West, Phebe West, and Eliphalet Ketchum. The presbytery was composed of Elder William A. Thompson, moderator (Sandy Creek), and Elder Isaac N. Vanmeter, clerk (New Hope). Other brethren in the council included Lic. Joseph Richardson (Salem); Andrew W. Simmons (New Hope); William Thomas and William Bloomfield (Henderson); J. W. Thompson, Lic. Noah Long, and E. Ketchum (Bureau). On the following day, the church received five new members by baptism, viz., I. E. Ketchum, Orrell Ketchum, Smith Ketchum, Jane Hamilton and Sarah Hickerson. Elder W. A. Thompson was called to the pastoral care of the church. He was succeeded by Elder Smith Ketchum.


Brasel, Eckard, Elmendorf, Gordon, Hamilton, Hickerson, Jordan, Ketchum, Markle, Robinson, Stewart, West, Winchell (very incomplete list due to loss of records).


Red Oak Church was organized at Red Oak, near Woodhull, on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in November, 1874. The presbytery was composed of Elders W. A. Thompson (Sandy Creek Church, Putnam Co.), Moderator; Smith Ketchum (Barren Grove Church); R. M. Simmons (New Hope Church, Warren Co.); and the following deacons and other brethren, I. E. Ketchum, Clerk, and Lewis Brasel (Barren Grove Church); Moses Hahn, B. Brown, Milam Thomas, J. Hahn, J. Bloomfield, R. Maxwell, I. B. Hahn, J. M. Brown (Henderson Church, Knox Co.); A. W. Simmons, M. P. Lee, and F. M. Moore (New Hope Church, Warren Co.).

The 19 charter members were: Bazel Jordan, Elizabeth Jordan (his wife), Frank Jordan, T. D. Jordan, Chloe Jordan, Thomas Robinson, Mary Jane Robinson (his wife), Isabel Booker, Anderson Gordon, Alexander Robinson, William Davis, Sarah Butler, B. F. Butler, Rosa Males, Ahaziah Gordon, Mary A. Gordon (his wife), Margaret H. Gordon, Elizabeth Reede, and Mary J. Reede.

After council dissolved, the church elected Eld. S. Ketchum moderator and I. M. Brown clerk. Chose Elders R M. Simmons and S. Ketchum to act as pastors, chose Bazel Jordan as deacon, T. D. Jordan as clerk.


Booker, Butler, Davis, Gordon, Jordan, Males, Reede, Robinson (very incomplete list due to loss of records).


Minutes of the Spoon River and Sandy Creek Associations; obituaries of members in the Signs of the Times and other periodicals.

Go Back to the Family History Assistance Page

Go Back to the Primitive Baptist Library Page

Copyright c. 2001-2021. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (