Church and Family History Research Assistance
for Primitive Baptist Churches in Harmon County, Oklahoma



Salt Fork Church was constituted in 1901, by Elders Moses Barton and Deacon L. J. Ellis, with the following members, viz., Elder J. R. McCarty and wife, Martha McCarty, and J. S. Boucher. These members were all holding letters from Bosque and Providence churches of Erath County, Texas. Elder J. R. McCarty became the pastor of this church.

Salt Fork Church was in the constitution of the "Panhandle & Oklahoma Association."


Salem Church was constituted on Saturday before the third Sunday in September 1904, at Cold Creek Schoolhouse, by Elders P. M. Lancaster, David Utt, W. G. Morris, Moses Barton, J. A. Jones and J. R. McCarty, with the following members: J. S. Saunders, C. E. Saunders, M. A. Saunders, S. P. Saunders, W. J. and S. P. Higgins. These members were all from Salt Fork Church just after the church was constituted.

W.J. Higgins was ordained to the ministry by the above presbytery. Elder W.J. Higgins was called to the pastoral care of the church.

Copyright c. 2002. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (