Church and Family History Research Assistance for Coffey County, Kansas



Neosho Church was organized at the home of John and Ruhamah Beavers in Coffey County, on Saturday before the third Sunday in May 1866, by a council consisting of Elders Samuel Billings, Stephen Harlan, and William F. Jones. The charter members were as follows, viz., Elder Hiram Harlan, Henry Richards, Cicero Wilkinson, Jane Wilkinson, Mary Wilkinson, Ormino Harlan, Thomas Reed, Sarah A. Reed, Charles M. Reed, John D. Judd, Mary J. Judd, John Beavers, Ruhama Beavers, Arthur Veach, and Mary Veach. Meetings were held in homes and school houses, until a new building, with seating capacity for about 450 persons, was completed late in 1896, at Ottumwa. Pastors included Elders Hiram Harlan, Henry Richards, W. F. McCormick, and J. M. Preston.


Beavers, Billings, Bowman, Clark, Harlan, Hawkins, Hellyer, Jones, Judd, Kelsey, Knotts, Mayer, McCormick, Reed, Richards, Simmons, Veach, Webster, White, Wilkinson (very incomplete list due to loss of records).

Go Back to the Primitive Baptist Library Page

Go Back to the Family History Assistance Page

Copyright c. 2001-2022. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (