Church and Family History Research Assistance for Butler County, Nebraska



Little Flock Church was organized at a school house om Cedar township, near Brainard, on Saturday before the first Sunday in July, 1876. The presbytery was composed of Elder Thomas Jenkins and brethren John Pugh and Larkin Langston from Liberty Church, Iowa; Elder A. E. McKnight, of Iowa; Elder W. L. Jones, E. G. Jones and H. Jones of Council Bluffs Church, Iowa; and Bro. J. Lewis from Providence Church. Elder Thomas Jenkins was moderator, and Elder W. L. Jones clerk of the presbytery. On Sunday one was added by experience and one by letter, and on Monday two were added by experience.

Elders Isaiah Waggoner, Anthony E. McKnight, and James M. True, and possibly others, were ministers here. This church soon united with the Missouri Valley Association, and hosted the association the first time it was held in Nebraska.


Brown, Conner, Cooper, Darnall, Davis, Ford, McKnight (very incomplete list due to lack of records).


New Hope Church was organized in Dwight, in Butler County, on May 5, 1884, with nine members, viz., Elder Isaiah Waggoner, Phebe Waggoner, W. C. Darnell, Mary A. Darnell, Moses Dye, Susanna Dye, George W. Clapp, Fannie Clapp, and Rachel Hawkins. It later met in the Oak Grove school, in Seward County. Elder James M. True joined this church soon after its constitution (he had been a Brigadier General for the Union Army at the close of the Civil War).


Clapp, Darnall, Davis, Dye, Ford, Hawkins, Mayes, McBride, Myers, Plott, Pomeroy, Skinner, Stevens, True, Waggoner.

Go Back to the Primitive Baptist Library Page

Go Back to the Family History Assistance Page

Copyright c. 2001-2023. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (