Primitive Baptist Church and Family History
Research Assistance for the State of Arizona



Salt River church was organized in
The church dissolved in 1985/1986.



Bethel Church was organized in south Phoenix, in 1931, with six charter members, viz., Elder F. C. Lee, E. D. Chapman, Fannie Chapman, T. J. Arnn, Bessie Arnn, and B. F. Randall. Two other members were received as soon as the constitution was completed.



Lone Pilgrim Church was constituted on April 17, 1955, at Mesa, with eighteen charter members, viz., Deacon P. C. Harris, James Gibson, Noel J. Morris, Loel W. J. Morris, R. L. Freeman, F. L. Joyner, Deacon H. L. Morris, P. C. Crowford, Keath Crowford, Clarence Gage, H. J. Hopper, Mabelle Harris, Thulia Gibson, Marie Morris, Grethel Turner, Myrtle Morris, Evlyn Crowford, Mona Joyce Crowford, and Kathryn Gage. The presbytery was composed of Elders Lee Griffin, M. M. Moran, Olan Robinson, H. R. Warren, and Deacons P. P. Harris, Lee Bryant, R. E. L. Roberts, S. E. Pugh, H. L. Morris, and H. J. Donahue. The meeting place, at first, was the Odd Fellows Hall, at the corner of Center and Third Streets. The following year, five members were dismissed to organize a church at Tucson. The first pastor was Elder Olan Robinson. He was followed by Elder F. J. Joyner, in 1957.


The Tuscon Church was organized on the fifth Sunday in April, 1956, with eleven charter members. Elder L. A. Denton, from Albuquerque, New Mexico, delivered the charge. Brother Fred Kasserman gave an account of the constitution, and said the church was meeting in the YMCA. Meetings had been held for some time previous, as an arm of Bethel Church in Phoenix. The church now has a meeting house of its own.

Copyright c. 2006-2012. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (