Church and Family History Research Assistance
for Anson County, North Carolina




Lawyer's Spring Church was organized July 31, 1821, with fifteen charter members. Elder Joseph Williams assisted in the constitution and became the first pastor. The first deacons were Absolum Caudle and Joseph Smith. Solomon Marsh was chosen the first clerk.

Lawyer's Spring Church had its origin as an arm from Gourdvine Church which was located in what is now Union County. The name of Lawyer's Road and Lawyer's Spring was given because this was the path used by lawyers in the early days of North Carolina, when they traveled from Charlotte to other points in the state to hold court. It was the custom of the lawyers and judges to camp at the springs where the church now stands while making their long journeys.

Pastors have included Elders Joseph Williams, Nathaniel Mason Little, George K. Chaney, Singleton Little, J. F. Mills, W. T. Broadway, O. J. Denny, Sam McMillan, J. R. Wilson, V. V. Willard, and Joe Helms.



Deese's Chapel Church was organized September 28, 1926, at North Wadesboro, with seven charter members, the presbytery being composed of Elders Jason Eudy, Treece, and Edwards.

Go Back to the Primitive Baptist Library Page

Go Back to the Family History Assistance Page

Copyright c. 2001-2006. All rights reserved. The Primitive Baptist Library.

This page maintained by: Robert Webb - (